Planning to be “Up in the Air”

7 Apr

After the Hubby’s graduation next May, we are planning on taking a much deserved vacation before he’ll start his residency that July.   Although I’ve continued to take time to travel (including a trip to Germany, in which I returned a mere two days before the bar exam! (Thank goodness that worked out!)), the Hubby has been hitting the books pretty much non-stop since our honeymoon in 2008.

I’m thinking 10-14 days somewhere is definitely doable.  We’ve thrown around a few ideas over the past six months, but nothing has seemed to stick.  So I thought I’d start a list of places that I want to visit, or revisit with the Hubby. Here are the current contenders:

1) Euro-trip:

Lucerne, Switzerland

Lucerne, Switzerland. My mom, older sister, and I traveled there 15+ years ago.  My sister and I both fell in love with this quaint city and promised each other that we would one day buy a vacation home here on the lake (No surprise, but we’re still saving. However, I’m pretty positive we pinky promised, so I’m certain one day our home will happen!).  But until then, I would absolutely love to see this city again with an adult perspective and the Hubby by my side (especially since he will be vacationing here quite frequently once we buy our home).

Munich, Germany

Munich, Germany. I was only here a mere two days this past summer (noted above), and it was not near enough time!  The Hubby has never been to Germany, and the short trip has me really wanting to go back and explore this beautiful country.

 

 

2) Virgin Islands

St. Johns, U.S. Virgin Islands

We can’t help it. The Hubby and I love the sun, beach, and ocean.  Neither of us has been to the Virgin Islands, and the islands are calling our names! And nothing says relaxing vacation like lounging on the beach in a swimsuit with a cold bottle of water (or something else if you prefer!) and a good book.

3) New Zealand/Australia (with a side-trip or two)

Milford Sound, New Zealand

The (Proposed) Flight Plan:

Leave from Dallas, TX, fly 3.5 hours to San Francisco, CA where we will visit our wedding site (Half Moon Bay, CA) for 2 days of reliving the fabulousness of our wedding day, then fly 10 hours to Auckland, New Zealand for 5 days of exploration, followed by the final 3 hour flight to Sydney, Australia for 6 more days of fun (I really want to safely see a great white shark!!).

For the return trip, we will leave Sydney on a 10 hour flight to Honolulu, Hawaii where we will soak up the sun for 3 days, finally followed by a 6 hour flight back to Dallas, TX.

Okay, so my plan for this possibility is a couple days longer than the planned 10-14 noted above, but at the same time, when else are we ever going to have the opportunity to take off a travel across the world?  The more I think about it, the more I like it! I might even possibly forgo one of the extra stops that I would normally require to break up such a long flight (. . . on the condition we travel business class, of course. . . I’m not crazy).   I am going to have do further research into this “our summer is their winter” thing though . . . I don’t want to be cold!

So, clearly, we are in the very early stages of planning, and we are open to suggestions!

Leave a comment